The Ten Squishiest 80’s Ballads


There have been love songs and ballads as far back as the ear can remember.  Some are full of nothing but love, others nothing but heartbreak.  There are more than a hundred 80’s ballads that spanned a decade of tears and charred thumbs from holding the lighter lit a little too long.  I had a hard time picking ten, but I did it with some coffee and a fistful of aspirin.

They are in no particular order because they are all squishy in their own way:

A white lighter showing a flame against a blac...

Lighters Show Love!

** Save Your Love – Great White

** Waiting, For a Girl Like You – Foreigner

** Fly To The Angels – Slaughter

** Heaven – Warrant

** House Of Pain – Faster Pussycat

** Home Sweet Home – Motley Crue

** I Remember You – Skid Row

** Beth – Kiss

** Don’t Close Your Eyes – Kix

** Open Arms – Journey

Open Arms is quite possibly the most famous of the ballads.  It was out before hair bands were an icon.  It was every teen couple’s anthem in the early 80’s.  It was the song played at the school dance where boys got the nerve to ask pretty girls leaning up against the wall to dance.

Do you have any favorite 80’s ballads?  When you hear one, are you transported back in time?

8 responses to “The Ten Squishiest 80’s Ballads

  1. I wasn’t much into the hair bands or metal in the 80s. I think my two favorite ballads from back then are “Lay Your Hands On Me” by Thompson Twins and “Something About You” by Level 42. 😀

    • Angie – I remember those songs! 😀 Sometimes I really miss the 80’s.. the music was cooky, but I loved it. And I think the lack of technology was kind of peaceful.

      Thank you so much for commenting.

  2. I love 80’s music – hair bands, metal and power ballads. Probably because that’s when I graduated high school and college and the time that I found out who I am. It’s my generation. 🙂 I also like: “I Want To Know What Love Is” by Foreigner. My favorite: “Every Rose Has It’s Thorn” by Poison. The song, “Keep on Lovin’ You” by REO is one of my favs, too. Great topic! i could discuss 80’s music all day, but alas I have to get back to work. Thanks for the memories! 🙂

  3. I was going to mention “Every Rose Has It’s Thorn” too, but Rhonda beat me too it! I love my 80’s hair bands! That was my era. I graduated in 90 so my crazy later teenage years were filled with this music. It’s crazy that you mentioned “Save Your Love”. I haven’t thought of that song in years. That was “our song” with one of my ex-boyfriends from that era. I think it left a bad taste in my mouth when I was trying to break it off with him and he kept calling me and playing that song over the phone. LOL I used to love it though.

    Back in the day, when my husband and I first met, our song was “Don’t Know What You Got Til It’s Gone” by Cinderella.

    Others that I absolutely loved: “Patience” (GnR); “Ballad of Jayne” (L.A. Guns); “When I Look Into Your Eyes” (Firehouse); “Love Song” (Tesla); “Without You” (Motley Crue); anything off the Hysteria album (Def Leppard); “Angel” (Aerosmith).

    Gah, I could go on. LOL Such a fun blog – thanks for the memories!

    • Laura, thanks so much for commenting… 🙂 I looove “Love Song” by Tesla.. gotta listen to that one when it comes on my ipod.

      “Angel” was my and my ex-h’s song when we were just dating … bah ha ha!!

Leave a comment